> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.pnwebike.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Answer Engine Review: Heybike Cityrun
- URL: https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/heybike-cityrun-review/
- Published: 2026-10-25T18:41:29.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-26T00:20:21.000Z
- Description: The Cityrun is a reasonable choice for relaxed urban commuting because it combines turn signals, auto headlights, a 21 mph top speed, and a step-through frame. Its limits are a modest 55 N·m torque figure, a 21 mph cap, and a battery capacity two sources report differently.
- Author: Carlos Hickey
- Tags: heybike, heybike-cityrun, reviews

A relaxed, well-equipped step-through commuter for paved streets and paths.

**Manufacturer:** [Heybike](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/heybike/)

Review — specs cross-checked 20 Oct 2026 

## Is the Cityrun the right relaxed step-through commuter for paved streets and paths?

It is a reasonable choice for relaxed urban commuting because it combines turn signals, auto headlights, a 21 mph top speed and a step-through frame. Heybike lists a 500 W motor with a 1,000 W peak, 55 N·m and a 21 mph top speed. The battery appears as 720 Wh in one source and 500–600 Wh in another. No figure has been measured here. 

Battery

720 Wh

Another source lists 500–600 Wh; unresolved.

Top speed

21 mph

A deliberate cap below the lineup's 28 mph commuters.

Price

$999

An older listing shows $1,199.

## Editor's note

No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. The battery capacity is disputed between sources; both figures are shown and neither is chosen.

## Who this is for

This suits a rider who wants a low step-through for easy mounting, a capped 21 mph speed, and equipment that already includes turn signals and automatic lights. It is a poorer fit if you need more than 55 N·m for steep climbs, or a settled battery capacity before ordering.

## Does the Cityrun handle a daily paved commute?

Turn signals and auto headlights are unusual at this price and genuinely useful on wet, dark commutes. The 21 mph cap keeps it inside the Class 1–2 speed band, which simplifies path rules. The 55 N·m figure is modest, so treat steep sustained climbs as a question rather than a strength.

## What owners say

No attributable owner sample is recorded for the Cityrun in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.

## Where it falls short

- Battery capacity conflicts: 720 Wh and 500–600 Wh.
- 55 N·m is modest for sustained climbs.
- 21 mph is a hard cap; faster commuters in the range reach 28 mph.
- No brake model is published in the sources used.
- The model is no longer on the main new-bike listing, so availability varies.

## Spec versus reality

| Spec      | Manufacturer claim              | Independent / verified reality                                 |
| --------- | ------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Price     | $999                            | An older listing shows $1,199; unverified.                     |
| Motor     | 500 W hub, 1,000 W peak, 55 N·m | No independent review or owner report describes its behaviour. |
| Battery   | 720 Wh                          | Another source lists 500–600 Wh; unresolved.                   |
| Top speed | 21 mph                          | A deliberate cap below the 28 mph models.                      |
| Frame     | Step-through                    | Manufacturer description.                                      |
| Equipment | Turn signals, auto headlights   | Listed by Heybike; unverified.                                 |
| Weight    | Not stated                      | Ask before planning a rack or stairs.                          |
| Brakes    | Not stated                      | Ask for the caliper model.                                     |

## PNW reality check

#### Rain

Turn signals and auto lights help visibility, but no ingress rating is published. Keep the battery dry and charge indoors.

#### Hills

55 N·m is a commuter figure. It should suit rolling paved grades; sustained steep climbs are unproven.

#### Storage

A step-through commuter fits a hallway or garage floor. Weight is unpublished, so measure the turn into your space.

#### Lifting

Weight is not published. Ask for the shipped and battery-removed figures before planning a rack.

## Frequently asked questions

### How much does the Cityrun cost?

$999 is listed in one source and $1,199 in an older one. Confirm the current price with the seller.

### What is the top speed?

21 mph, which keeps it inside the Class 1–2 speed band and simplifies path rules compared with the 28 mph models.

### Is the battery 720 Wh or 500–600 Wh?

Both appear in the sources. The conflict is unresolved here; ask which pack ships with your configuration.

### Is 55 N·m enough for hills?

It is a commuter figure, aimed at rolling paved grades. Sustained steep climbs are not established by the available evidence.

### Does it have turn signals?

Yes, turn signals and automatic headlights are listed.

### What brakes does it have?

The caliper model is not published in the sources used. Ask before ordering.

### Can I still buy one new?

The model is no longer on the main new-bike listing, so availability varies. Confirm what the seller is actually shipping.

### Is it legal on PNW paths?

21 mph fits the Class 1–2 band, but confirm the class and the local rule for the exact path.

## Sources

1. 2026-10-20 — Heybike, [Heybike product catalogue (Cityrun no longer listed separately)](https://www.heybike.com/?ref=pnwebike.com). Manufacturer listing; every figure is an unverified claim.
2. 2026-10-20 — PNWeBike, [Heybike manufacturer guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/heybike/). Warranty, return and service terms as published by Heybike.
3. 2026-10-20 — PNWeBike, [E-Bikes hub](https://www.pnwebike.com/e-bikes/). Internal baseline used when listings disagree.

Heybike is the site's only affiliate partner: a Heybike link may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the conclusion. No ads. No sponsors. AI-assisted research, human-reviewed. I have not ridden this bike; every figure above is a manufacturer claim.

"This is the research I found. It's your decision."

Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.

## Other models to compare

- [ALPHA](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/heybike-alpha-review/)
- [Cityscape 2.0](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/heybike-cityscape-2-0-review/)
- [Horizon](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/heybike-horizon-review/)

Back to the [Heybike guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/heybike/), or browse [all model reviews](https://www.pnwebike.com/e-bikes/).

Before ordering, the [buyer guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/start-here/) and the [lifting and transport guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/can-i-lift-a-50lb-ebike/) cover the decisions that outrank specifications.