Answer Engine Review: Heybike Cityrun
The Cityrun is a reasonable choice for relaxed urban commuting because it combines turn signals, auto headlights, a 21 mph top speed, and a step-through frame. Its limits are a modest 55 N·m torque figure, a 21 mph cap, and a battery capacity two sources report differently.
A relaxed, well-equipped step-through commuter for paved streets and paths.
Manufacturer: Heybike
Is the Cityrun the right relaxed step-through commuter for paved streets and paths?
Editor's note
No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. The battery capacity is disputed between sources; both figures are shown and neither is chosen.
Who this is for
This suits a rider who wants a low step-through for easy mounting, a capped 21 mph speed, and equipment that already includes turn signals and automatic lights. It is a poorer fit if you need more than 55 N·m for steep climbs, or a settled battery capacity before ordering.
Does the Cityrun handle a daily paved commute?
Turn signals and auto headlights are unusual at this price and genuinely useful on wet, dark commutes. The 21 mph cap keeps it inside the Class 1–2 speed band, which simplifies path rules. The 55 N·m figure is modest, so treat steep sustained climbs as a question rather than a strength.
What owners say
No attributable owner sample is recorded for the Cityrun in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.
Where it falls short
- Battery capacity conflicts: 720 Wh and 500–600 Wh.
- 55 N·m is modest for sustained climbs.
- 21 mph is a hard cap; faster commuters in the range reach 28 mph.
- No brake model is published in the sources used.
- The model is no longer on the main new-bike listing, so availability varies.
Spec versus reality
| Spec | Manufacturer claim | Independent / verified reality |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $999 | An older listing shows $1,199; unverified. |
| Motor | 500 W hub, 1,000 W peak, 55 N·m | No independent review or owner report describes its behaviour. |
| Battery | 720 Wh | Another source lists 500–600 Wh; unresolved. |
| Top speed | 21 mph | A deliberate cap below the 28 mph models. |
| Frame | Step-through | Manufacturer description. |
| Equipment | Turn signals, auto headlights | Listed by Heybike; unverified. |
| Weight | Not stated | Ask before planning a rack or stairs. |
| Brakes | Not stated | Ask for the caliper model. |
PNW reality check
Rain
Turn signals and auto lights help visibility, but no ingress rating is published. Keep the battery dry and charge indoors.
Hills
55 N·m is a commuter figure. It should suit rolling paved grades; sustained steep climbs are unproven.
Storage
A step-through commuter fits a hallway or garage floor. Weight is unpublished, so measure the turn into your space.
Lifting
Weight is not published. Ask for the shipped and battery-removed figures before planning a rack.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the Cityrun cost?
$999 is listed in one source and $1,199 in an older one. Confirm the current price with the seller.
What is the top speed?
21 mph, which keeps it inside the Class 1–2 speed band and simplifies path rules compared with the 28 mph models.
Is the battery 720 Wh or 500–600 Wh?
Both appear in the sources. The conflict is unresolved here; ask which pack ships with your configuration.
Is 55 N·m enough for hills?
It is a commuter figure, aimed at rolling paved grades. Sustained steep climbs are not established by the available evidence.
Does it have turn signals?
Yes, turn signals and automatic headlights are listed.
What brakes does it have?
The caliper model is not published in the sources used. Ask before ordering.
Can I still buy one new?
The model is no longer on the main new-bike listing, so availability varies. Confirm what the seller is actually shipping.
Is it legal on PNW paths?
21 mph fits the Class 1–2 band, but confirm the class and the local rule for the exact path.
Sources
Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.