Answer Engine Review: Hynox Trooper X

The Trooper X is a plausible fit for steep, hilly routes on paper, combining a 1,000 W motor and 100 N·m torque claims with a folding full-suspension frame. Its ~88 lb weight and an unresolved motor-wattage conflict are the main cautions before buying.

A 20-inch folding full-suspension fat-tire e-bike for riders who want strong hill-climbing torque and a tunable rear shock in a frame that folds.

Review — specs unverified

Is the Hynox Trooper X good for steep, hilly routes?

On paper it is a plausible fit for steep routes: a 1,000 W motor and 100 N·m torque claims, plus a folding full-suspension frame and an air rear shock. Hynox lists a 1,000 W rear hub, 100 N·m and a DNM air rear shock. Some listings cite a 1,600 W peak, and marketing has also cited 78 lb rather than the ~88 lb shipped weight.
Motor
1,000 W hub
Manufacturer claim; some listings cite 1,600 W peak.
Torque
100 N·m
Manufacturer claim, unverified.
Weight
~88 lb
Some marketing cites 78 lb.

Editor's note

No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. Motor, weight and peak figures conflict between the listing and marketing; both are shown.

Who this is for

This suits a rider who wants maximum torque in a folding frame and can store and move an ~88 lb bike at ground level. It is a poor fit if you must lift it, if you need a settled weight before ordering, or if 1,000 W puts the bike outside the state's e-bike definition where you ride.

Is 1,000 W legal in Washington?

Washington defines a compliant e-bike with a 750 W motor cap, so a 1,000 W nominal rating may sit outside that definition and change where it can be ridden as a bicycle. Oregon permits up to 1,000 W. That is a legal question to settle before buying, not a performance feature.

What owners say

No attributable owner sample is recorded for the Trooper X in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.

Where it falls short

  • Weight conflicts: ~88 lb listed against 78 lb in marketing.
  • Peak power is quoted as 1,600 W in some listings and not others.
  • A 1,000 W nominal motor may fall outside Washington's 750 W definition.
  • No brake model is published in the sources used.
  • No water-ingress rating is recorded.

Spec versus reality

SpecManufacturer claimIndependent / verified reality
PriceNot stated in the sources usedConfirm the current price with the seller.
Motor1,000 W rear hubSome listings cite 1,600 W peak.
Torque100 N·mManufacturer claim, unverified.
BatteryNot stated in the sources usedAsk for capacity and part number.
Weight~88 lbMarketing has cited 78 lb.
SuspensionFull suspension, DNM air rear shockManufacturer claim.
Frame20-inch foldingManufacturer description.
BrakesNot statedAsk for the caliper model.

PNW reality check

Rain

No ingress rating is recorded and no water-damage term is confirmed here. Store it dry and charge indoors.

Hills

100 N·m is the claim that makes this bike interesting for steep routes, but no hill test is recorded and the motor rating raises a legal question in Washington.

Storage

The fold handles storage; ~88 lb still has to be moved.

Lifting

~88 lb is not a one-person lift for most riders. Plan a ramp or ground-level storage.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Trooper X weigh?

About 88 lb is listed, while marketing has cited 78 lb. Ask for the shipped weight and the battery-removed weight.

Is the motor 1,000 W or 1,600 W?

1,000 W nominal is listed; some listings quote 1,600 W as a peak figure. They are different numbers, not a contradiction, but confirm both.

Is it legal in Washington?

Washington caps e-bike motors at 750 W. A 1,000 W nominal rating may sit outside that definition; confirm the class and how the bike ships.

Is it legal in Oregon?

Oregon permits up to 1,000 W, which matches the listed rating, but local path rules can still restrict access.

Does it fold?

Yes, it is a 20-inch folding frame.

What suspension does it have?

Full suspension with a DNM air rear shock, per the listing.

What brakes does it have?

Not stated in the sources used. Ask before ordering.

What is the range?

Not published in the sources used. Ask for the battery capacity and a realistic range figure.

Sources

No affiliate relationship is claimed for this model. No ads. No sponsors. AI-assisted research, human-reviewed. I have not ridden this bike; every figure above is a manufacturer claim. Heybike is the site's only affiliate partner, and no Heybike link appears on this page.
"This is the research I found. It's your decision."

Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.