> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.pnwebike.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Answer Engine Review: Lectric XP4
- URL: https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/lectric-xp4/
- Published: 2026-10-25T18:41:40.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-26T00:20:29.000Z
- Description: Only if folding is the requirement. The XP4 is a folder first: it packs into a car trunk and stores in a closet, and you pay for that with 20-inch wheels and a hinge. Lectric asks $999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range one, and the base bike is the better value unless you ne
- Author: Carlos Hickey
- Tags: lectric, reviews

A folding e-bike sold in two power levels: a $999 version and a $1,299 long-range build with a 17.5 Ah battery. The folding frame is the reason to look at it, and the reason to look away.

**Manufacturer:** [Lectric eBikes](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/lectric/)

Two power levels on one page 

## Is the Lectric XP4 right for a rider 50+?

Only if folding is the requirement. The XP4 is a folder first: it packs into a car trunk and stores in a closet, and you pay for that with 20-inch wheels and a hinge. Lectric asks $999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range one. The page lists an in-house torque sensor, a colour TFT display, hydraulic brakes and up to 85 miles for the 750 W, 17.5 Ah version. None of those figures has been independently measured here. 

Base price

$999

List $1,146, as shown 20 Oct 2026.

Long range

$1,299

17.5 Ah battery build.

Range claim

Up to 85 mi

Long-range version; manufacturer claim.

## Editor's note

No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. The range and component figures are manufacturer claims, and the base-versus-long-range price difference is stated as listed.

## Who this is for

This suits a rider whose real constraint is storage or vehicle transport: a trunk, a closet, an apartment. It is a poorer fit if you have a garage and a ground-floor door, because the hinge buys nothing there and costs ride quality against a full-size frame.

## Is the long-range version worth $300 more?

Only if your round trip is long enough that the base battery would not cover it. The base bike is the better value for short urban rides; the 17.5 Ah build is for distance. Neither range figure has been independently tested here.

## What owners say

No attributable owner sample is recorded for the XP4 in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.

## Where it falls short

- 20-inch wheels and a hinge trade ride quality for portability.
- The 85-mile range is a manufacturer claim for the long-range build.
- No water-ingress rating is recorded.
- The base and long-range builds differ mainly in battery, and the price gap is $300.

## Spec versus reality

| Spec    | Manufacturer claim            | Independent / verified reality                                  |
| ------- | ----------------------------- | --------------------------------------------------------------- |
| Price   | $999 base / $1,299 long range | Base list $1,146, as shown 20 Oct 2026.                         |
| Motor   | 750 W hub                     | Manufacturer claim.                                             |
| Battery | Base vs 17.5 Ah long range    | Manufacturer claim; capacity of the base build not stated here. |
| Range   | Up to 85 mi (long range)      | Manufacturer claim; not independently measured.                 |
| Sensor  | In-house torque sensor        | Manufacturer claim.                                             |
| Display | Colour TFT                    | Manufacturer claim.                                             |
| Brakes  | Hydraulic                     | Caliper model not published.                                    |
| Frame   | Folding, 20-inch wheels       | Manufacturer description.                                       |

## PNW reality check

#### Rain

No ingress rating is recorded. Keep the battery dry and charge indoors.

#### Hills

A 750 W hub is a known quantity, but no hill test is recorded. Judge it on your grade.

#### Storage

The fold is the point: it fits a closet or a trunk where a full-size frame will not.

#### Lifting

A folding frame is easier to manoeuvre but not necessarily light. Ask for the shipped weight.

## Frequently asked questions

### How much does the XP4 cost?

$999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range build, with a $1,146 list price shown on 20 October 2026.

### What is the difference between the two builds?

Mainly the battery: the long-range version uses a 17.5 Ah pack and claims up to 85 miles.

### How much does it weigh?

Not stated in the sources used. Ask for the shipped weight; folding does not guarantee light.

### Is the range real?

Up to 85 miles is a manufacturer claim for the long-range build. No independent test is recorded.

### Does it fold?

Yes, that is the reason to choose it over a full-size frame.

### What brakes does it have?

Hydraulic brakes are listed; the caliper model is not published.

### Is it good for a rider 50+?

It suits a rider whose constraint is storage or transport. The 20-inch wheels and hinge are the trade.

### Is it legal on PNW paths?

Confirm the class in writing against Oregon and Washington rules.

## Sources

1. 2026-10-20 — Lectric, [XP4 product listing](https://lectricebikes.com/products/xp-black?ref=pnwebike.com). Manufacturer figures, unverified.
2. 2026-10-20 — PNWeBike, [Lectric manufacturer guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/lectric/). Warranty and return terms as published.
3. 2026-10-20 — PNWeBike, [E-Bikes hub](https://www.pnwebike.com/e-bikes/). Internal baseline.

No affiliate relationship is claimed for this model. No ads. No sponsors. AI-assisted research, human-reviewed. I have not ridden this bike; every figure above is a manufacturer claim. Heybike is the site's only affiliate partner, and no Heybike link appears on this page.

"This is the research I found. It's your decision."

Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.

## Other models to compare

- [XP Trike 2](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/lectric-xp-trike2/)
- [XPeak 2.0 High-Step](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/lectric-xpeak2-high-step/)
- [XPedition 2.0](https://www.pnwebike.com/blog/lectric-xpedition2/)

Back to the [Lectric eBikes guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/manufacturers/lectric/), or browse [all model reviews](https://www.pnwebike.com/e-bikes/).

Before ordering, the [buyer guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/start-here/) and the [lifting and transport guide](https://www.pnwebike.com/can-i-lift-a-50lb-ebike/) cover the decisions that outrank specifications.