Answer Engine Review: Lectric XP4

Only if folding is the requirement. The XP4 is a folder first: it packs into a car trunk and stores in a closet, and you pay for that with 20-inch wheels and a hinge. Lectric asks $999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range one, and the base bike is the better value unless you ne

A folding e-bike sold in two power levels: a $999 version and a $1,299 long-range build with a 17.5 Ah battery. The folding frame is the reason to look at it, and the reason to look away.

Two power levels on one page

Is the Lectric XP4 right for a rider 50+?

Only if folding is the requirement. The XP4 is a folder first: it packs into a car trunk and stores in a closet, and you pay for that with 20-inch wheels and a hinge. Lectric asks $999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range one. The page lists an in-house torque sensor, a colour TFT display, hydraulic brakes and up to 85 miles for the 750 W, 17.5 Ah version. None of those figures has been independently measured here.
Base price
$999
List $1,146, as shown 20 Oct 2026.
Long range
$1,299
17.5 Ah battery build.
Range claim
Up to 85 mi
Long-range version; manufacturer claim.

Editor's note

No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. The range and component figures are manufacturer claims, and the base-versus-long-range price difference is stated as listed.

Who this is for

This suits a rider whose real constraint is storage or vehicle transport: a trunk, a closet, an apartment. It is a poorer fit if you have a garage and a ground-floor door, because the hinge buys nothing there and costs ride quality against a full-size frame.

Is the long-range version worth $300 more?

Only if your round trip is long enough that the base battery would not cover it. The base bike is the better value for short urban rides; the 17.5 Ah build is for distance. Neither range figure has been independently tested here.

What owners say

No attributable owner sample is recorded for the XP4 in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.

Where it falls short

  • 20-inch wheels and a hinge trade ride quality for portability.
  • The 85-mile range is a manufacturer claim for the long-range build.
  • No water-ingress rating is recorded.
  • The base and long-range builds differ mainly in battery, and the price gap is $300.

Spec versus reality

SpecManufacturer claimIndependent / verified reality
Price$999 base / $1,299 long rangeBase list $1,146, as shown 20 Oct 2026.
Motor750 W hubManufacturer claim.
BatteryBase vs 17.5 Ah long rangeManufacturer claim; capacity of the base build not stated here.
RangeUp to 85 mi (long range)Manufacturer claim; not independently measured.
SensorIn-house torque sensorManufacturer claim.
DisplayColour TFTManufacturer claim.
BrakesHydraulicCaliper model not published.
FrameFolding, 20-inch wheelsManufacturer description.

PNW reality check

Rain

No ingress rating is recorded. Keep the battery dry and charge indoors.

Hills

A 750 W hub is a known quantity, but no hill test is recorded. Judge it on your grade.

Storage

The fold is the point: it fits a closet or a trunk where a full-size frame will not.

Lifting

A folding frame is easier to manoeuvre but not necessarily light. Ask for the shipped weight.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the XP4 cost?

$999 for the base build and $1,299 for the long-range build, with a $1,146 list price shown on 20 October 2026.

What is the difference between the two builds?

Mainly the battery: the long-range version uses a 17.5 Ah pack and claims up to 85 miles.

How much does it weigh?

Not stated in the sources used. Ask for the shipped weight; folding does not guarantee light.

Is the range real?

Up to 85 miles is a manufacturer claim for the long-range build. No independent test is recorded.

Does it fold?

Yes, that is the reason to choose it over a full-size frame.

What brakes does it have?

Hydraulic brakes are listed; the caliper model is not published.

Is it good for a rider 50+?

It suits a rider whose constraint is storage or transport. The 20-inch wheels and hinge are the trade.

Is it legal on PNW paths?

Confirm the class in writing against Oregon and Washington rules.

Sources

No affiliate relationship is claimed for this model. No ads. No sponsors. AI-assisted research, human-reviewed. I have not ridden this bike; every figure above is a manufacturer claim. Heybike is the site's only affiliate partner, and no Heybike link appears on this page.
"This is the research I found. It's your decision."

Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.