Answer Engine Review: WIRED Raven
The Raven pairs a 72 V system, a 5,000 W peak motor, and a claimed 210 N·m with 20-inch fat tires at 142 lb. That is a specialty machine. It also claims UL 2271 on its batteries but no UL 2849 for the bike, unlike the Freedom and Cruiser.
A 72 V, 20-inch-wheel high-output e-bike with a claimed 210 N·m and a rear air shock, sold as the most powerful and heaviest model in the WIRED line.
Manufacturer: WIRED
Is the WIRED Raven right for a rider 50+?
Editor's note
No firsthand observation, measurement, or owner quote was invented for this page. Peak output and torque are manufacturer claims; the battery certification is specific to the packs, not the whole bike.
Who this is for
This is for a specialist rider who wants maximum output and accepts 142 lb, and who has ground-level storage and a way to move it. It is not a general-purpose e-bike, and it is a poor fit for anyone who lifts a bike, stores it in a shed with a step, or needs a class-compliant machine for paths.
Is a 72 V, 5,000 W bike legal on PNW paths?
Not as a Class 1–3 e-bike. Oregon caps e-bike motors at 1,000 W and Washington at 750 W, so a 72 V system with a 2,000 W nominal motor sits outside both definitions. Treat legal access, insurance and land-manager rules as the first questions, not the specification sheet.
What owners say
No attributable owner sample is recorded for the Raven in the sources used here, so this page makes no reliability claim.
Where it falls short
- 142 lb, or 104 lb without batteries, is a two-person lift.
- The bike does not claim UL 2849, unlike the Freedom and Cruiser.
- A 72 V system sits outside Oregon and Washington e-bike definitions.
- 5,000 W is a peak claim; the nominal motor is listed at 2,000 W.
- 210 N·m has no independent measurement.
Spec versus reality
| Spec | Manufacturer claim | Independent / verified reality |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Not stated in the sources used | Confirm with the seller. |
| System voltage | 72 V | Manufacturer claim. |
| Motor | 2,000 W nominal, 5,000 W peak claimed | Manufacturer claim. |
| Torque | 210 N·m claimed | No independent measurement. |
| Battery certification | UL 2271 for the packs | Not UL 2849 for the complete bike. |
| Weight | 142 lb; 104 lb without batteries | Manufacturer figures. |
| Suspension | Rear air shock | Manufacturer claim. |
| Wheels | 20-inch fat | Manufacturer claim. |
PNW reality check
Rain
No ingress rating is recorded for the complete bike. Keep the batteries dry and charge indoors.
Hills
Output is not in question; legality and control are. A 142 lb machine on a wet descent is a different risk from a 50 lb commuter.
Storage
Ground-level only. Measure the doorway and plan the turn before ordering.
Lifting
104 lb without batteries is still a two-person lift. Do not plan a wall hook or a car roof.
Frequently asked questions
How much power does the Raven have?
A 2,000 W nominal motor with a 5,000 W peak claim and 210 N·m of claimed torque. Neither figure is independently measured here.
Is it legal on Oregon or Washington paths?
Not as a standard e-bike. Oregon caps motors at 1,000 W and Washington at 750 W, so a 72 V system falls outside both definitions.
How much does it weigh?
142 lb with batteries and 104 lb without, per the manufacturer. Both are two-person lifts for most riders.
Is it UL certified?
The batteries claim UL 2271; the complete bike does not claim UL 2849, unlike the Freedom and Cruiser.
What is the range?
Not stated in the sources used. Ask for battery capacity and a realistic figure.
Who is it for?
A specialist rider who wants maximum output and has ground-level storage and transport. It is not a general-purpose e-bike.
Does it have full suspension?
A rear air shock is listed; confirm the fork specification.
What should I check before ordering?
Legal access, insurance, storage, transport and the battery certification, in that order.
Sources
Signed: Carlos Hickey · PNW e-Bike Guide · West Linn, Oregon.